4. What to choose for Registration

Church Group Distribution

The Nagasaki Church Group, designates Hirado, Ikitsuki, Goto and Nagasaki as a triangle area surrounding Goto. However, as they are the work of Yosuke Tetsukawa, "The Pillar Constructor", we also consider the buildings just outside this area, such as the ones located in the Fukuoka, Saga and Kumamoto Prefectures.

Chart 7. Distribution chart of the Nagasaki Church Group

Tentative List
For proposed registration, we have selected churches of richer cultural and historic value and unique architectural design. Most of the churches chosen (See Chart 7, abobe) were constructed during the Meiji, Taisho and early Showa period (For details, see Chart 8 below).
Two churches built after the World War II are part of this group because of their special historic and cultural value. These are the Urakami Cathedral (completely destroyed by the Atomic Bomb) and the Saint Philip Church (Twenty Six Martyrs Church) in Nishizaka.
Needless to say, the fact that some of the church buildings are not included in the list does not deny their cultural or artistic value. The proposed World Heritage registration group is based on priorities, and as such it does not exclude future consideration.

Chart 8. Nagasaki (Other Prefectures included) Church Group tentative World Heritage candidate list


Edo(-1868)and Meiji(1868-1912)


Showa(pre-world war)



Ebukuro: 1882
Old Tainoura: 1903
HiyaMizu: 1907
Aosagaura: 1910

Oozo: 1916

Doinoura: 1918
*Kashiragashima: 1919
Naka no Ura: 1925




*Old Gorin: 1881
Doozaki: 1908
Kusuhara: 1910 -12

+ Egami: 1918
Saga no Shima: 1918
Han Dmari: 1920
Kaizu: 1924

Hamawaki: 1931
Mizunoura: 1938

Hirado and Sasebo

Hooki: 1898-99
* Kuroshima: 1902
Old Nokubi: 1908
Yamada: 1912

Yamano: 1920

Himozashi: 1929
Koozaki: 1930
Asago: 1930
Miuracho: 1931
Hirado: 1931

Sotome Area

+Oono: 1893



Nagasaki City

*Old Oura: 1864
Nakamachi: 1896
Kaminoshima: 1897
Sacred Heart Monastery: 1898

Kashiyama: 1924

Magome: 1931
(Urakami: 1959)
(26 Martyrs: 1962)

Kyushu (other than Nagasaki Prefecture)

Saga:Yobuko: 1882
Saga: Umadarashima: 1885

Fukuoka:Old Daimyo Machi: 1894

Fukuoka:Imamura: 1913

Kumamoto: Tedori: 1928
Kumamoto: Ooe: 1933
Kumamoto: Sakitsu: 1935

Meiji Village

Old Daimyoji: 1879



Type of cultural assets

* National Treasure or National Important culturalassets
Prefectural Importantcultural assets

Building Structure

Brick, wood, stone, reinforced concrete

Other principal church-related facilities
* Old Oura Latin Seminary (1875) with Bishop's Residence (1915): appointed as National Important Cultural Asset.
* Shitsu Church Rescue Institute (1883) and Sardine Net Factory (1888): appointed as historic Prefectural site.
* Kashiragashima Priest's House (end of Meiji): together with the church it is appointed as National Important Cultural Asset.